Land for Maine’s Future (LMF) Bonds Withheld

LMF photo Status: Passed

Bill vetoed by Governor; veto override failed

The Governor continues to withhold Land for Maine’s Future funding, approved by voters in 2010 and 2012. LMF supports the conservation of farms, forests, waters and recreational access. The Governor held the bonds hostage in 2013 until a hospital debt was paid. The debt was paid and the Governor promised, in writing, to release the bonds. The Governor broke his promise and held the bonds hostage again this year, subverting the will of Maine voters. This time, LePage demanded an increase of timber harvesting on public lands above current sustainable levels, to fund unrelated heating programs. Sen. Katz sponsored a bill to require Governor LePage to release the LMF bonds. The Legislature voted to support the bill but the Governor vetoed it. On the last day of the session, the Senate voted to override the veto, but the House failed to override it by five votes. Six representatives switched their votes after receiving intense pressure from the Governor’s office. Despite this tremendous disappointment, immediately following the vote, another bill was amended (LD 1454) to direct the Governor to release the LMF bonds. This bill was passed by both bodies and will likely be vetoed by the Governor in January. The Legislature will have a chance to override this potential new veto in 2016.

Senate Roll Call #426 (July 16, 2015)

District Name Pro Environment Vote
27 Alfond, Justin L.
23 Baker, Linda L.
20 Brakey, Eric L.
25 Breen, Catherine
6 Burns, David C.
34 Collins, Ronald F.
10 Cushing, Andre E.
16 Cyrway, Scott W.
4 Davis, Paul T
26 Diamond, Bill NULL
5 Dill, James F.
32 Dutremble, David E.
1 Edgecomb, Peter
24 Gerzofsky, Stanley J.
9 Gratwick, Geoffrey M.
19 Hamper, James M.
28 Haskell, Anne M.
35 Hill, Dawn
13 Johnson, Christopher K.
15 Katz, Roger J.
7 Langley, Brian D.
21 Libby, Nathan L.
22 Mason, Garrett Paul
14 McCormick, Earle L.
29 Millett, Rebecca J.
12 Miramant, David R.
18 Patrick, John L.
8 Rosen, Kimberley C.
17 Saviello, Thomas B.
11 Thibodeau, Michael D.
31 Valentino, Linda M.
30 Volk, Amy Fern Excused
3 Whittemore, Rodney L.
2 Willette, Michael J.
33 Woodsome, David

House Roll Call #460 (July 16, 2015)

District Name Pro Environment Vote
138 Alley, Robert W.
67 Austin, Susan M. W.
8 Babbidge, Christopher W.
35 Bates, Dillon
33 Battle, Kevin J.
2 Beavers, Roberta B.
110 Beck, Henry E. M.
93 Beebe-Center, Pinny
63 Bickford, Bruce A.
114 Black, Russell J.
3 Blume, Lydia
61 Brooks, Heidi E.
24 Bryant, Mark E.
113 Buckland, Andrew Russell
96 Burstein, Christine S.
130 Campbell, Richard H.
21 Campbell, James J.
46 Chace, Paul
133 Chapman, Ralph A
15 Chenette, Justin M.
40 Chipman, Benjamin M.
47 Cooper, Janice E.
25 Corey, Patrick W.
56 Crafts, Dale J. A
49 Daughtry, Matthea E.L.
101 Davitt, James E.
52 DeChant, Jennifer L.
90 Devin, Michael G.
72 Dillingham, Kathleen R. J.
43 Dion, Mark N.
85 Doore, Donna R.
121 Duchesne, Robert S.
122 Dunphy, Michelle Ann
118 Dunphy, Larry C.
148 Edgecomb, Anthony J.
65 Espling, Ellie
91 Evangelos, Jeffrey
6 Eves, Mark W.
37 Farnsworth, Richard R.
111 Farrin, Bradlee Thomas
11 Fecteau, Ryan M.
7 Foley, Robert A.
80 Fowle, Lori A.
100 Fredette, Kenneth Wade
124 Frey, Aaron M.
34 Gattine, Drew
20 Gerrish, Karen A.
48 Gideon, Sara
74 Gilbert, Paul E.
98 Gillway, James S.
69 Ginzler, Phyllis A.
60 Golden, Jared F.
127 Goode, Adam A.
83 Grant, Gay M.
82 Greenwood, Randall Adam
12 Grohman, Martin J.
102 Guerin, Stacey K.
32 Hamann, Scott M.
142 Hanington, Sheldon Mark
87 Hanley, Jeffery P.
36 Harlow, Denise Patricia
89 Hawke, Stephanie
117 Head, Frances M.
97 Herbig, Erin D.
73 Herrick, Lloyd C. A
81 Hickman, Craig V.
120 Higgins, Norman E.
76 Hilliard, Gary L.
55 Hobart, Brian D.
14 Hobbins, Barry J.
13 Hogan, George W.
135 Hubbell, Brian L.
4 Hymanson, Patricia
41 Jorgensen, Erik C.
99 Kinney, MaryAnne
22 Kinney, Jonathan L.
125 Kornfield, Victoria P.
92 Kruger, Chuck
134 Kumiega, Walter A.
58 Lajoie, Michel A.
137 Lockman, Lawrence E.
145 Long, Ricky D.
109 Longstaff, Thomas R. W.
132 Luchini, Louis J.
129 Lyford, Peter A.
140 Maker, Joyce A.
136 Malaby, Richard S. A
16 Marean, Donald G.
151 Martin, Roland Danny
150 Martin, John L.
18 Mastraccio, Anne-Marie
107 McCabe, Jeff M.
66 McClellan, Michael D.
51 McCreight, Joyce
149 McElwee, Carol A.
27 McLean, Andrew J.
62 Melaragno, Gina M.
30 Monaghan, Kimberly J.
38 Moonen, Matthew W.
31 Morrison, Terry K.
78 Nadeau, Catherine M.
77 Nutting, Robert W.
5 O'Connor, Beth A.
10 Parry, Wayne R.
115 Peterson, Matthew J.
108 Picchiotti, John Joseph
116 Pickett, Richard A.
53 Pierce, Jeffrey K.
44 Pierce, Teresa S. A
86 Pouliot, Matthew G.
68 Powers, Christine B.
17 Prescott, Dwayne W.
103 Reed, Roger E.
59 Rotundo, Margaret R.
39 Russell, Diane M.
1 Rykerson, Deane
26 Sanborn, Linda F.
88 Sanderson, Deborah J.
147 Saucier, Robert J. A
64 Sawicki, David P.
126 Schneck, John C.
9 Seavey, H. Stedman
23 Shaw, Michael A.
144 Sherman, Roger L.
106 Short, Stanley Byron
28 Sirocki, Heather W.
112 Skolfield, Thomas H.
143 Stanley, Stephen S.
119 Stearns, Paul A. A
105 Stetkis, Joel R.
42 Stuckey, Peter C.
95 Sukeforth, Gary E.
54 Tepler, Denise A.
79 Theriault, Timothy S.
75 Timberlake, Jeffrey L.
45 Timmons, Michael J.
123 Tipping-Spitz, Ryan D.
50 Tucker, Ralph L.
139 Tuell, William R.
141 Turner, Beth P.
29 Vachon, Karen
128 Verow, Arthur C.
70 Wadsworth, Nathan J.
104 Wallace, Raymond A.
131 Ward, Karleton S.
84 Warren, Charlotte
94 Welsh, Joan W.
146 White, Dustin Michael
71 Winsor, Tom J.
57 Wood, Stephen J.